Skincare Sunday — NEALS YARD ORGANIC!

I have been itching to write this post! My skin still acts like it’s on the face of a 14 year old. I’ve tried almost everything possible to keep the acne at bay, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it is hormonal but can be balanced with the correct skincare. My skin type is oily in the t-zone, slightly drier on the cheeks and breakout prone. I also appear to have a skin allergy to chemical anti-aging products. However, any skincare aimed at sensitive skin, usually containing mineral oils (or oils in general), clogs my pores and also causes my skin to break out.

I have tried almost every drugstore product: from the very gentle CeraVe and Cetaphil facial washes (which I do still like from time to time) to the more harsh Yes To Tomatoes, Clean&Clear and Neutrogena with salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide, and I’ve even tried Aveeno, Garnier and The Body Shop. I’ve tried prescription face washes with 5 and 10% benzoyl peroxide. I’ve tried higher end products like Shiseido, Philosophy, Ole Henrickson, Clinique, Boscia, Benefit. I tried more “cult” favorites such as LUSH’s skincare and Michael Todd Organics. (NOTE: LUSH’s skincare are fine, but do not work as effectively on their own as they do in conjunction with my current skincare routine).

While all those brands are fine and work well for others, they did not work for me. I used to believe that my skin was just too oily and that I needed to strip away all that oil. Stripping away the oil I did. Instead, that process made the oiliness worse! My skin became dry and thirsty, and over-produced oils to compensate for that lack of moisture. In addition, my skin was sensitive to whatever other ingredients in aaaallllllll those other brands I was testing.

ALL THE THINGS
[Almost] ALL THE THINGS
One day I went to a bridal show with some friends and ended up winning an NYR Organics and Stella & Dot combined trunk show, which is when my skin transformation began. NYR is just a fantastic organic skincare range. These products were gentle, yet effective, on my skin. While I still get breakouts, NYR has helped my overall skin health. My skin is more balanced, brightened and moisturized, and I can see a significant difference in the size and number of pimples when I do have a breakout. Below are some photos of the products I use (some aren’t great quality images, but you get the idea) and how they work for me. Each week I’ll post a review of 1 or 2 of the products. Keep checking back for updates!

Beauty Sleep Concentrate || A magical serum (that really applies more like a thicker lotion), which makes your skin look and feel as if you got 100% of the necessary beauty sleep and moisture for the day.
Beauty Sleep Concentrate
Palmarosa Facial Wash & NYR Men Purifying Face Wash || Both are fantastic facial washes. I use the Palmarosa in the morning because I feel that it is more gentle, and helps the skin retain a bit more moisture. I use the Purifying at night to remove all traces of dirt and makeup left on my face. It's like a clarifying shampoo but for your face!
Palmarosa Facial Wash & NYR Men Purifying Face Wash
Purifying Palmarosa Facial Polish || A gentle scrub that looks sort of gross. It's a light tan color with little black poppy seed-like granules. This facial scrub is gentle and effective. The scrub isn't incredibly abrasive, and really does give your face the feeling of being gently polished.
Purifying Palmarosa Facial Polish
This mask doesn't do much for me in the way for curing pesky pimples, but it sure does make my overall skin feel fantastic. While nourishing for the skin, the mask is clay-based so it still helps to draw out dirt from the pores.
White Tea Enriching Facial Mask
White Tea Facial Mist: Very cooling, soothing. Love to use this before applying moisturizer and serums, or even when my face just needs a little pick-me-up during the day.
White Tea Facial Mist
Purifying Palmarosa Toner || The KEY to my skincare routine. I hadn't been using a toner regularly before Alexis recommended this one to me. Using a toner takes off any extra residue on the skin before serums/treatments/moisturizers are applied. Even leftover facial wash on the skin, regardless of how organic or gentle, will prevent the other good stuff from sinking into the skin.
Purifying Palmarosa Toner

If you want to host a show or try out the products, contact Alexis Knox, get on her mailing list and check out her website! Each month there is a new special on the website, and there are even more benefits to hosting a show/party (in person or online). You get some products for free and some at heavily discounted prices.

**Alexis did not pay me to write this post!! In fact, I contacted her to ask if I could use her as a resource for this post.**

P.S. If you made it to the end of this post, you’re AWESOME. And those who are patient and diligent are REWARDED!!! Alexis has kindly offered to include a free treat on your first order with her if you mention this blog post! http://www.us.nyrorganic.com/shop/alexisknox

One thought on “Skincare Sunday — NEALS YARD ORGANIC!

Leave a Reply

